University of Ilorin, also known as Unilorin, is a federal government-owned university in Ilorin, Kwara State, Nigeria. It was established by a decree of the federal military government in August, 1975. The establishment aimed to implement one of the educational directives of the Third National Development Plan which was aimed at providing more opportunities for Nigerians aspiring to acquire university education and to generate high-level manpower, so vital for the rapidly expanding economy. Compared to other higher institutions of learning in the country, the institution has one of the largest land areas, covering approximately 15,000 hectares of land. It is reported by JAMB to be the most sought-after Nigerian university in 2021.

The university began in 1975 as a university college affiliated to the University of Ibadan. Dr. T. N. Tamuno who was a professor and Head of the History Department at the University of Ibadan was appointed the first principal of the college in September 1975. By December 1975, Tamuno was appointed the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Ibadan. As a result, Professor O. O. Akinkugbe was appointed as the new Principal for the University of Ilorin (then, a University College) in 1975. Akinkugbe was the former Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, University of Ibadan.

Akinkugbe, made several visits to the second Military Governor of Kwara State, the late Colonel Ibrahim Taiwo in connection with the new institution, such that by March 1976, he had established residence at Ilorin. The support given to the fledgling Institution by Governor Taiwo continued even more vigorously under the third Military Governor of the State, Brigadier George Agbazika Innih, who ceded a portion of the land of the Kwara State College of Technology to the university. In October 1977, the institution attained full autonomous status with the appointment of Professor O.O Akinkugbe as the first Vice-Chancellor of the university.

The first set of 200 students were admitted on 23 October 1976 following an entrance examination and academic work started on 25 October 1976 following the Principal's address. The University College started with three academic faculties: Arts, Science and Education. The university started off on a portion of the temporary campus of the Kwara State Polytechnic known as the mini-campus. The mini-campus was the site of academic programmes for the Faculties of Arts, Science, Education, Engineering & Technology, Business and Social Sciences and Basic Clinical Sciences section of the Health Sciences Faculty. All operations of the university were conducted on the mini-campus until January 1982 when more than 1000 students studying in sciences were moved to the permanent site of the institution following completion of new Faculty blocks and residences for Natural Sciences and Engineering in the site. In 1983, the law programme was established as a Department under the Faculty of Business and Social Sciences. Following a 6-year hiatus, the Law Department was accorded a full-fledged Faculty status in 1993.

The university has fifteen Faculties and dozens of (over 60) Academic Departments. The faculties existing in University of Ilorin now are: Arts, Agriculture, Environmental Sciences, Life Sciences, Management Sciences, Physical Sciences, Social Sciences, Communication and Information Sciences, Education, Engineering and Technology, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Veterinary Medicine, Law, Basic Medical Sciences and Clinical Sciences (the last two faculties are operating under the University College of Health Sciences). In addition, there are two Institutes - Institute of Education and Unilorin Sugar Research Institute, this is in addition to a full-fledged Postgraduate School. The university also has several centres notably among which are: Centre for Ilorin Studies, Centre for Peace and Strategic Studies, Ilorin Business School and so on.

Undergraduate Degree programmes run for 3–5, or 6 years, depending on entry qualifications and chosen discipline. Similarly, the postgraduate programmes are run on different dimensions depending on the nature of the program.

There have been several vice-chancellors of the university. Is-haq Oloyede was the first alumnus to be appointed as vice-chancellor.

In 2020, The Nigerian Journal of Technological Development, a quarterly publication of the Faculty of Engineering and Technology, was accepted by the Scopus database.


                                                                     REGISTRATION PROCEDURE FOR FRESH STUDENTS

Registration Procedure on the University Site

1. While on the University of Ilorin Website, locate Portals, click on the Pre-Admission Screening Registration

2. Input your Jamb Registration Number

3. Enter your Surname

4. Input an active email address

5. Input your phone No.

6. Click on Verify Phone Number and a code will be sent to the mobile No. provided in step 5.

7. Pay the application form fee via Remita

8. Complete the registration after the payment has been confirmed to be successful.


Don't forget to join our whatsApp group for easy mobile updates JOIN NOW


Share On Social

Subscribe to Newsletter

Get updates on examinations, schools and release of admissions